Outriggers for Small Boats

13/12/2023

A properly functioning phishing outbreak is a joy to watch. The backbone of an effective trolling pattern are properly fitted outriggers. Not only do the outriggers keep the baits from tangling, they also raise the lines so that the bait or lures run flush to the surface. This is particularly important on a small boat. Pulling baits out of the substrate spaces out of the spread creates a larger footprint in the water that attracts more fish.

Base Drop

When gaffer dolphins showed up on shore a couple of years ago, I tried targeting these fish by bare-trolling rod holders on a Jones Brothers 20-foot center console. Without outriggers, my lines were constantly tangled and I couldn't get my baits out of the boat and into the clean water. We did catch fish, but I knew we could do better.

Over the winter, I contacted Sam, a technical service consultant at Rupp Marine, to learn more about setting up my boat with outriggers. Same thing I looked at pictures of the T-tops on my boat to choose the best outrigger bases.

"It's easy to get your boat into a T-top," he said, recommending Rupp's Stinger to avoid drilling a big hole in the soft top and metal mounting plate. For larger hardtop boats, the same proposed Top Gun rules that place the rig control below the top. "Make sure you mount the base in a location where it won't interfere with the T-top supports or hit people in the head," he added. The same also suggested that I take the slope of the T-top into account. Boats greater than 10 degrees in diameter must include a slanting wedge to keep the riggers level.

To mount the bases, I drilled right through the soft top and aluminum mounting plate on the top of the T. I chose stainless steel bolts with lock nuts and added them to the underside of the mount. The base template made measuring the holes easy, but I still measured and mocked everything up about 100 times before drilling.

Pole Placement

Once the base is installed, adding backhoe posts is very easy. Rupp offers fixed poles but I chose telescopic poles that I can fold for easy storage. The same proposed columns are no more than two-thirds of the length of the boat. My 20 foot long is best suited for 15 foot outrigger poles.

The support column is fixed to the base by a pin. I drilled a small hole through the base of the column to fit the hole in the mounting tube. Then you just slide the shaft into the base and insert the pin. Once installed, the poles are extended with push-button locks. I keep the poles collapsed when running to hunting grounds.

What is Halyard?

The most difficult part of the process was equipping the riggers with halyards and clamps. Same sent a rigging kit that included a halyard line, Klicker clips and double-spool shock cords.

I chose to run halyards for the short drill machine and the long machine. I threaded the halyard line through the guides on the outrigger pole and the reel. I then slid a plug ball over the halyard line and tied a 300-pound test swivel on each end of the line. I caught a Klicker clip in between snap rings. You can adjust the pressure of these clips so that they open at the slightest flick of a billfish or tighten down to pull out swim plugs and heavy bait. Once set, the clamps maintain the proper tension without worry.

I set up the halyards so that they are tight when the poles are angled outward for trolling. When I bring the poles up (parallel to the boat) I slide the reel clamp forward on the T-top to keep the halyard line tight.

When I fold the poles, I take the excess halyard and wrap it around the three-pronged knob on the base. The same recommends removing columns when not in use. "Hauling a boat puts a lot of stress on the base and poles, and storing them in the original box will keep them safe and free of corrosion," he says.

The payoff came quickly on the first trip with my new substrates. I could see the baits splashing on the waves and running through the clear water. After trolling for a few minutes, the rig's long left section popped and the line went taut as a 3-foot dolphin jumped into the air. Job done.

Related Articles:

Outriggers for Small Boats 

Electric Trim Tabs vs Hydraulic Trim Tabs 

Self-leveling Tabs vs. Electric Trim Tabs: A Comprehensive Comparison 

Trim Tabs Vs Interceptors 


Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started